CCRU Grand Final Results

September 25, 2022



Terrigal                       13
Ethan McInnes try;
Adam Danckert 1 conversion, 2 penalty goals

Razorbacks                   8
Steve Finley try;
Jarrod Grange 1 penalty goal


The Lakes                   29
Toby Strecker, Liam Baker, Mackenzie Zammit tries;
Alec Herridge 4 penalty goals, 1 conversion

Terrigal                         0


Avoca Beach               16
Justin Douglass, Miles Routledge tries;
Jono Hirst 2 penalty goals

The Lakes                     8
Paul Sipu try;
Travis Vawdon 1 penalty goal

WOMEN’S 10’s

Avoca Beach               17
Sharni Waters 2, Ebony Milgate tries;
Summer Witt 1 conversion

Terrigal                         7
Angela Jones try;
Sian George 1 conversion

The 2022 Grand Final day at Central Coast Stadium saw some wonderful games of rugby. It proved to be a great day of rugby, with matches played in very varying weather conditions. Obviously on the day there were great celebrations but also much disappointment of getting so close to victory.

In the Premier 1 Grand Final Terrigal hung on to record another Premiership victory, defeating the Razorbacks by the narrow margin of 13 points to 8. There was absolutely nothing in this match throughout. The weather cleared for the big clash and the match was played in very good conditions. It went point for point for the entire 80 minutes and neither team was able to take a decisive break on the other team on the scoreboard. Both teams found it very difficult to post points because of great defence from both sides. It proved to be a very dour struggle from start to finish. There was absolutely no scoring in the first 27 minutes of the first half. Play went from one end of the field to the other but there was no satisfaction on the scoreboard for either team. They simply could not break through either team’s defences. The scoring was only opened up in the 27th minute when Terrigal kicked a penalty goal to lead by 3 points to nil. The contest was certainly proving to be a real arm wrestle. It was a typical Grand Final.  The Razorbacks did respond soon after with their own penalty goal so the two teams went to the halftime break locked at 3 points apiece. It was going to be a nervous battle in the second half. The second half continued in much the same vein. Good attack but also great defence. Terrigal did kick a further penalty goal in the 11th minute to lead by 6 points to 3. The Razorbacks then, in the 14th minute of this half, grabbed the lead for the first time in the match when prop Steve Finley crashed over for the first try in the match for the Razorbacks to take the lead by 8 points to 6. The next 20 minutes saw the best rugby of the match. Terrigal regained the lead in the 24th minute when their hooker Ethan McInnes crossed for their first try and for Terrigal to regain the lead by 13 points to 8. The final 15 minutes of the match were hectic. Terrigal was in the lead and threw everything into the match in an attempt to score further points to guarantee the win while the Razorbacks tried everything to bridge the narrow gap. However Terrigal were able to hang on for victory. The fact that both teams only crossed for the lone try each demonstrated the closeness of the match. Best players for Terrigal were fullback Dan Sargeant, five-eight Adam Danckert, and forward Elekana Laupola. The Razorbacks were best served by locks Josefa Biu and James Mann, and No.8 Rob Peden. Terrigal had won their third successive Premier 1 Premiership and this year secured both the Minor and Major Premierships. The Premier 1 Grand Final proved a fitting way to conclude the 2022 Central Coast Rugby Union season.

The Lakes secured a convincing victory in the Premier 2 Grand Final when they defeated Terrigal by 29 points to 0. The Lakes were in control for most of the match and never looked in doubt of gaining the victory. They scored first early on and continued to attack for much of the match. By halftime they led by 18 points to nil and even at that stage it seemed the result was secured. Terrigal tried everything to get back into the match but effective defence from The Lakes kept them scoreless in the contest. The Lakes posted a further 11 points in the second half to win the match. Best players for The Lakes were fullback Alec Herridge, lock Chad Goodhand, and No.8 Zach Christensen. Terrigal were best served by No.8 Ryan Metcalfe, centre Mitch Hirst and five-eight Frankie Webber. The Lakes richly deserved this Premiership after what was a great year for them.

Avoca Beach was able to win the President’s Cup Grand Final defeating The Lakes by 16 points to 8. Avoca Beach opened the scoring and then continued to be in control in the early stages of the match. In fact much of the first half saw Avoca Beach on the attack and by halftime had jumped to a very handy 16 points to 3 lead. It was probably during this period that the match was won. The second half proved a real arm wrestle with neither team able to grab any ascendancy on the scoreboard. In fact Avoca Beach scored no points in the second half but it was that first half performance that gained them the Premiership. The Lakes did cross for a try late in the match was it was all too late. Best players for Avoca Beach were prop Miles Routledge, inside centre Dylan Hardaker and fullback Jono Hirst. The Lakes were best served by fullback Travis Vawdon and flanker Harry Pirini It was the third successive Premiership for the Avoca Beach team.

The Women’s 10’s Grand Final saw Avoca Beach record a 17 points to 7 victory over Terrigal. This encounter was even throughout. The match was played in continual rain but this did not prevent the high quality of play. Terrigal opened the scoring with a converted try but this 7 nil lead was not to last long. It was proving a nerve wracking and enthralling game of rugby. Gradually the Avoca Beach team gained control on the paddock and on the scoreboard and by halftime had taken the lead by 10 points to 7. The second half was a very even struggle with both teams throwing everything at each other. However it was Avoca Beach who proved the stronger and crossed for their third try in the second half to secure the Premiership. Avoca Beach scored three tries to one in the match and that was the difference between the two teams. Best players for Avoca Beach were Renee Staben, Sharni Waters and Ebony Milgate, while Madelein Robinson, Emily Lufe and Sian George were strong for Terrigal.