CCRU Round 13 Results

July 14, 2019

SATURDAY, 13th JULY, 2019


Terrigal                       82 (1)
Arana Taumata 2, Elekana Laupola 2, Salipopo Pamata, Jayden Woolley, Dylan Calabria, Mitch Hirst, Dan Sargeant, Frankie Webber, Ethan McInnes, Josh Vainikolo, Jim Storey, Kevin McNamara tries;
Jayden Woolley 6 conversions

Warnervale                   0

Gosford                       22
Adam Carlisle 2, Riley Crocombe tries;
Damien Montgomery 1 penalty goal;
Adam Carlisle 2 conversions

Kariong                       15 (1)
Mitch Clay, Kyle Sabroe tries;
Lachlan Peruch 1 conversion, 1 penalty goal

Avoca Beach               33 (1)
Mitch Jacob, Matt Kiddle, Julian Bacigalupo, Brad Mitchell, Tom Monteith tries;
Shaun Townsend 4 conversions

Hornsby                      12
Angus McQueen, Leone Naisaorotaboa tries;
Sam White 1 conversion

Ourimbah                    67 (1)
Jarrod Grange 2, Tyron Davies 2, Josefa Biu, Cameron Kesby, Dan Jones, Trent Harrison, Brenton Law, Mavae Muru Teutau, Rob Peden tries;
Tyron Davies 6 conversions

Woy Woy                     0

Terrigal                       79 (1)  Warnervale       7
Kariong                       31 (1)  Gosford           21
Hornsby                      10        Avoca Beach     5 (1)
Ourimbah                    53 (1)  Woy Woy         7

Kariong                       20 (1)  Gosford             0
The Lakes                   27 (1)  The Entrance  21 (1)
Ourimbah                    20 (1)  Woy Woy         0
Terrigal                       20 (1)  Warnervale       0

Avoca Beach               31 (1)  Terrigal           15
Kariong                       50 (1)  Gosford           26 (1)

Ourimbah                    17        Woy Woy       10 (1)
Terrigal                       24 (1)  Warnervale       0
Avoca Beach               51 (1)  Hornsby           0
Woy Woy                   20 (1)  Ourimbah          0
Terrigal                       32 (1)  Warnervale       5
Avoca Beach               38 (1)  Hornsby            7

Round 13 in Central Coast Rugby Union continued yesterday with some enthralling games of rugby, but also with some very convincing victories.

The Match of the Day saw Terrigal play some of their best rugby of the season to gain a massive 82 points to 0 victory over Warnervale at Woongarrah Oval. It was one way traffic from the start to the finish. Warnervale simply had no answer to the continual onslaught. They tried to stem the flow but could simply make no headway. Terrigal went to the halftime break leading by 36 points to nil and the match was already over by then. Terrigal continued to play outstanding rugby in the second half and were able to post a further 46 points in the final 40 minutes. Terrigal crossed for 14 tries in the match. Best players for Terrigal were outside centre Arana Taumata, who crossed for 2 tries, forward Josh Vainikolo and Jayden Woolley, who posted a personal tally of 17 points. The win sees Terrigal maintain second spot on the competition ladder while the Finals’ hopes for Warnervale appear to have disappeared this season.

Avoca Beach continued their good recent form when they defeated Hornsby by 33 points to 12 at Mark Taylor Oval. The first half was a totally even affair and both teams went to the halftime break locked at nil all. Both teams had their chances to score in the first 40 minutes but good defence from both teams prevented any points scoring in that period. However the second half was a quite different story. A total of 45 points were posted in the second half but 33 of those were scored by Avoca Beach. The visitors played the better rugby in that second period and deserved the win. Hornsby on the other hand would be most disappointed with their efforts during that period. Avoca Beach were able to cross for 5 tries in the final 40 minutes while Hornsby were only able to respond with two. Best players for Avoca Beach were Brad Mitchell, who scored a try, Jake McPhie and Mitch Jacob. Hornsby was best served by five-eight Sam White and front rower Angus McQueen. The win sees Avoca Beach go back into the Top Four at the expense of The Lakes.

Gosford hang on to defeat Kariong by 22 points to 15 at Kariong Oval. This was a very tight match throughout and Gosford would be most relived to get the victory. The first half was very close and Gosford only led by 10 points to 7 at the halftime break. The cold windy conditions were having an effect on all matches but especially on the hill at Kariong. Gosford always stayed in front on the scoreboard but Kariong were also always in shooting range. Late in the second half Gosford led by 19 points to 15 and a late penalty goal made the final score 22 -15. Gosford scored 3 tries to two and that fact showed the closeness of the match. Gosford cement their third position on the ladder and will be looking forward to their clash with second placed Terrigal next Saturday. Both teams played quite good rugby in the conditions. Best players for Gosford were veteran Adam Carlisle, who crossed for 2 tries, and debutant Nale Fanua. Best for Kariong were flanker Mick Farrell and fullback Kyle Sabroe.

Ourimbah defeated Woy Woy very easily at Ourimbah Rugby Park and the final score was 67 points to 0. Like the match at Woongarrah, this match was totally dominated by one team, Ourimbah. They controlling proceedings from the opening whistle and were never in doubt of getting the victory. Ourimbah went to the halftime break leading by 36 points to nil and were in total control. Woy Woy did play a little better in the second half but the match was well and truly gone by that stage. Best players for Ourimbah were No.8 Jarrod Grange, winger Trent Harrison, prop Jordan Clark and centre Brenton Law. However it was an excellent overall team performance by the home side to enable them to maintain their undefeated run this season. Best for Woy Woy were Alex Moore and Kane Burns.

The Lakes secured a vital win in President’s Cup when they defeated The Entrance by 26 points to 21 at Slade Park. This was a hard fought clash from start to finish.

Women’s 7’s rugby saw some hard fought clashes over the weekend. Wins to Terrigal, Avoca Beach, Ourimbah and Woy Woy saw the struggle for the Finals Series continue.