Round 5 Results

May 14, 2017

SATURDAY, 13th MAY, 2017

PREMIER 1 (bonus points in brackets)
Terrigal                       49 (1)
Dylan Calabria 2, Ethan McInnes 2, Ryan Metcalfe, Josh Vainikolo, Martin Wahbe tries;
Adam Danckert 7 conversions

Avoca Beach                 0

Woy Woy                   35 (1)
Blake Arahill 2, Eperama Tuka, Sam Soane, Nick Garnett tries;
Alex Moore 3 conversions;
Luke Meany 2 conversions

Gosford                       17
Adam Howe 2, Drew Neist tries;
Hugo Pike 1 conversion

Ourimbah                    40 (1)
Brett Cunningham 2, Rob Richardson 2, Nathan Gray 2 tries;
Ryan Fenning 5 conversions

Hornsby                        8
Mitch Fullager try;
Sam White 1 penalty goal

Warnervale                 29 (1)
Atunailse Turagebeci 2, Tevita Moala, Mark Fittler tries;
Cameron McNamara 3 penalty goals

The Lakes                   10
Pene Raulini 2 tries

PREMIER 2 (bonus points in brackets)
Avoca Beach               22        Terrigal           12
Woy Woy                   32 (1)  Gosford           14
Ourimbah                    54 (1)  Hornsby            0
The Lakes                   17        Warnervale     15 (1)

PRESIDENTS CUP (bonus points in brackets)
Terrigal                       23        Avoca Beach     3
Gosford                       31 (1)  Woy Woy         7
Ourimbah                    86 (1)  Hornsby            0
The Lakes                   30 (1)  Warnervale       6
The Entrance               33 (1)  Kariong             5

COLTS (bonus points in brackets)
Avoca Beach                 7        Terrigal             0 (1)
Kariong                       20 (1)  Woy Woy         0


The 2017 Central Coast Rugby season continued on today with some very interesting games of rugby. The 2017 local rugby season is developing and no clear pattern has developed yet in terms of the competition ladder.

The Match of the Day at The Haven Oval was won by Terrigal by 49 points to 0 in what proved a totally dominant performance. They led from the very start and the Avoca Beach team simply had no answers to the onslaught. Terrigal led by 21 points to nil at the halftime break and they were able to go on and double their points tally in the second 40 minutes. Best for Terrigal were hooker Ethan McInnes, who was outstanding, flanker Ryan Metcalfe and Josh Vainikolo. Best players for Avoca Beach were Blake Jacob, Chad Martin, and Pat Wheatley who all never stopped trying. The win sees Terrigal maintain their undefeated record and are stamping themselves as one of the teams to defeat in 2017.

Woy Woy were able to do enough to defeat Gosford at Woy Woy Oval by 35 points to 17. The match started out as a relatively even affair and both teams would have held high hopes of securing the win. But two intercept tries to Woy Woy, and a couple more later, certainly placed the home side in the box seat. Woy Woy led by 21 points to nil at the halftime break. The second half was a much more even affair on the scoreboard but the damage had been done. Best for Woy Woy were Blake Arahill, who scored 2 tries, and Luke Meany. Adam Howe was also good for Gosford and he crossed for 2 individual tries.

Warnervale gained a gritty win over The Lakes at Slade Park, and ran out winners by 29 points to 10. It was only 11 points to 5 to Warnervale at the break and when The Lakes scored early in the second half, and with score then at 11-10, it seemed it was going to be a battle royal. However Warnervale settled to the task and were able to control proceedings in the latter period of the match. Best for Warnervale were Cameron McNamara, Mitchell Riley and Matt Willmott. The Lakes were quite impressive despite the loss and were best served by Pene Raulini who crossed for 2 tries.

Ourimbah continued their great form this season with a storming win over Hornsby at Ourimbah Rugby Park, winning by 40 points to 8. It was a comfortable win for the undefeated home side but they did not have it all their own way. Ourimbah led by 21 points to 3 at the halftime break and had the win secured but Hornsby never gave in and fought it out to the very end. Best for Ourimbah were Tyler Jones and Keegan Evans, while Sam White was impressive for the visitors.  

In the President’s Cup, The Entrance recorded a most heartening win over Kariong at Joseph Banks Oval by 33 points to 5. The home side are certainly travelling well and the future does look good for them.